April 30, 2014

What another beautiful day on the Brewer Homestead. The sun is shining, the rooster is crowing and the morning chores are done. Only bad thing is I woke up this morning with a stiff neck and can hardly turn my head to the right. My whole body wants to move. O well, hopefully it will work its self out before to long. Got lots of stuff I want to do today. It rained yesterday and although I know the rain really is helping my garden along, it really makes it hard to get stuff done outside. Yesterday I did however get my portable chicken coop finished. My son and I built it in our garage. This way I can take the rocks out and let them eat the grass, they are going to eat me out of house and home soon. I figured out last night that I got cornish rocks, instead of white rocks. They are only made to last about 8-9 weeks. They grow exceptionaly fast to make a good meat bird. They are not however ment to be kept for layers or pets, which really sucks because I wanted laying birds, not meat birds. It’s hard for me to kill something that I have raised, but I guess I better get used to it.One of these days I would like to raise a cow and pig for those reasons. I don’t think it will be to hard with these birds anyway. They are mean!!. Whenever I put my hands in the pen to get their food or water dish they bite me. And this morning when I was moving them to the outside pen one actually left marks. Not good for that chick I can tell you. So it looks like in about a month I will be culling the flock of cornish rocks and filling up my freezer.

Another crazy thing that happened last night, that I hope I don’t have to get used to is I almost stepped on a snake. I HATE SNAKES! After my near panic attack my son Grason went outside and killed it for me. It not only scared me because I am petrified of snakes, but because it looked like it was headed right for the chickens in the back yard. It was just about 10 feet away from their fence. And this sucker was at least 4′ long. It was just a black rat snake  but still, it almost gave me a heart attack. Hopefully today won’t have any of those scary surprises, but you never know, on the homestead animals are everywhere!!Image

Posted on April 30, 2014, in Everyday and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

