May 2, 2014

Well no new catastrophies to report. I think my whole family was in shock yesterday, but it’s time to move on and learn from our mistakes. This morning I put little bands on my barred rock chicks so that I can tell them apart. I have 6 and right now they all look so much alike it’s hard to tell. I’m sure once they get a bit bigger I will be able to tell them apart by their personalities.I did notice that one of them has funny looking toes, so she shouldn’t be hard to pick out later. I’m really excited today because this evening I get to go to my favorite auction place. It’s called Dinky’s and they have everything. It’s actually where I got my barred rocks and silkies a few weeks ago. They also have tons of other stuff too. I’m hoping to find some pepper plants to supplement mine and maybe some raspberry and blackberry bushes, I have one of each right now, but I’m going to need a lot more so I can make my jams this summer. I moved the rabbits to their new run last night, but I kept it in the garage for right now. I don’t want to put them outside until I get a hutch to go on top. I don’t want to loose them like I did the rocks. I’m hoping maybe they will have something like that at Dinky’s tonight too. I’m also looking to get a few more silkie hens. I would love to breed them, they are such beautiful birds. Scarlett has left me two eggs i  the last 2 days, which I’m hoping maybe fertile. I spied Rhett and Scarlett doing the humpty a few days ago. I have a homemade incubator I am going to use to try and hatch them. I am also going to get some fertile eggs at the auction tonight. I would love to be able to turn this into a small side business. Anything to help right? I’m hoping to start nursing school in August and anything will help. And I just love my chickens so much, I feel like I am part of their flock now. Nick almost finished the main coop last night. All he has to do is fix the roost door to go up and down and I am going to hang up some curtains and lights inside the coop and they should be ready to go in by the end of the weekend. I’m going to miss them being in the back yard, but I will have the Barred Rocks out there soon enough, and the Silkies are staying put, they do not like to share their space. I heard the worst squaking this morning and I ran out to make sure nothing had gotten in the fence, but some of the other birds had gotten into Rhett and Scarlett’s pen and they were going crazy. They are very territorial. I sure hope they get over that soon.Well gotta go, have lots to do today!

Your word is a lamp to guide my feet and a light for my path! Psalm 119:105

 

 

Image

 

Posted on May 2, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

