May 5, 2014

Happy Monday morning! Man was it ever a busy weekend. Most people dread Monday mornings, but I almost look forward to them. Weekends around here are crazy busy, with so much to get done in such a little time frame. We finally got the main coop done! Yippy! Now for some finishing decorative touches, such as the coop sign and some fresh grass ( Nick seeded the entire run with grass seed), the chicky babies will be in their new home this time next week. I am going to miss them in the back yard, but I am going to get a swing to put over by the coop so I can sit out there and be with them and watch them. The back yard won’t be empty for long. The barred rock chicks only have about 2 or 3 more weeks in the bathroom brooder before they go outside full time. I actually put them in the playpen yesterday to let them be outside and get some fresh grass, they seemed to like it. I just don’t want them to get to cold yet. They don’t have all their feathers yet. I also started to incubate some of Scarlett’s eggs on Saturday. I made a homemade incubator so I guess we will see how that goes in about 3 weeks. I also bought a real incubator that I am going to try out. I am going to buy some eggs online this week and put those with any Scarlett lays this week in the new incubator over the weekend. Nick is going to build me a brooder box that we can keep outside, probably in the garage, that way I can get my second bathroom back, we have had chicks in there since March and it really sucks only having 1 bathroom for 5 people. I really want to try and start raising chicks to, I love to just watch them grow.

I didn’t get a lot done with the garden this weekend. I’m at a place right now where I really can’t put anything else out until the weather starts staying a little warmer. I did transplant my pepper seedlings to bigger pots, I just hope they get a little bigger before it’s time to go in the ground. We did buy some transplants at a nursery. We found some chocolate peppers. I guess they get brown or something. They sounded interesting. I also got several new plants for my shade garden that I am putting together. It is going to have a fountain and several pretty flowers, with a walkway and trellis. I have always wanted to put something in this one area of our yard and I am finally going to get the chance. I also found some big Iris plants, which I have been wanting for a few years now, I can’t wait to see how it looks when its all put together. I can’t wait for next weekend either. It’s Mother’s Day. I love Mother’s Day, because my kids and hubby always get me new plants to put out. I took them around Lowes yesterday and was pointing out things I liked. I love their surprises. Last year I got 3 new knock-out rose bushes and they ended up being the prettiest things in the yard, and they have all come back this year. I’m kinda hoping for a few more to put around the pool. I have designed ( in my mind) a pretty landscape around the pool. All this stuff just takes a lot of money and we have to do it one step at a time, but it will be so worth it. I love my “homestead” and wouldn’t want to be anywhere else.

God is light, and there is no darkness in Him at all. 1 John 1:5

Image

Posted on May 5, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

