May 6, 2014

What a beautiful morning on the old Brewer homestead. It’s going to be a great day. The sun is shining brightly and the forecast is calling for another beautiful warm day. I got the chickie babies outside this morning in the playpen to enjoy this great day. I am trying to get them out there as much as possible, because they will be going outside full time in just about another week or so. The “12” were very interested in the babies this morning. Especially Gwendalyn, she’s my silver-laced wyandotte, she was looking at them kind of motherly and making sure they were ok. I have them in a pen in the middle of the backyard so the others can see and here them, they just can’t get to them. I like to be carefull when I introduce new chickens to each other because you never know if the older chickens will accept the new ones and I do not want anyone getting hurt. When I first introduced Rhett and Scarlett to the “12” it was not harmonious. Rhett and Scarlett bullied the others, that is one of the reasons I have put them in their own pen, they don’t seem to mind, but they do not like it when one of the others gets in there with them. I don’t know what is going to happen when I get some more silkies to introduce to Rhett. I am hoping to keep them all together and breed them. I just hope Scarlett doesn’t get to jealous.I would love to have some little silkie babies running around. I still have 3 eggs in the incubator, but I’m afraid they are not fairing well. One looks like it is cracking and I have had a terrible time keeping the temp and humidity stable, and I forgot to turn them last night. This is just the first try though and I don’t even know if the eggs are fertile or not. Because I bought them at an auction I really have no idea how old they are, I’m sure they are still young though, maybe just at laying and reproducing age, so it might take a bit. We are going to Dinky’s again this weekend and I am hoping to get some fertile eggs and maybe even some older birds to start laying me some eggs. Nick and I talked about it last night and we are going to turn the back yard into a breeding area. We are going to section off the yard into different pens, that way we can put 1 rooster to maybe 4-5 hens into each pen and each pen will have the same kind of chcken, that way we can get some pure breed chicks. It’s hard telling what we will find at the auction, but I am hoping to get some polish and frizzles, they are the cutest looking birds and popular too. I would also like to get some Rhode Island reds and maybe brown leghorns. But I guess we will have to see. I guess you could say I have caught the chicken bug. I sat up reading all last night about chickens, I love the different magazines I have found at the library and I read all kinds of blogs and stuff. One of the websites I like the best is Backyard Chickens. com, if you have a question there is an answer on that site. You can really learn a lot. And it just gets me that much more excited.

Trust the Lord always, for the Lord God is the eternal Rock. Isaiah 26:4

Image

Posted on May 6, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

