May 16, 2014

Good morning from the Brewer Homestead. The sun is shining (finally), the roosters are crowing and the baby chicks are peeping and chirping happily behind me in their brooder. I took the barred rocks outside and decided to let the banties and sex-links run together today. The two roosters had their dance and I think everyone knows their place now. I stayed outside with them for awhile just to make sure, but I’m pretty sure the backyard is big enough that they each can stay on their own side and be happy. I was surprised at Edward this morning, he jumped over his fence into the pen with Rhett and Scarlett and they did a dance. I had to go in there though and break it up and put Edward back in his pen. Rhett is a lot smaller and I do not want him getting hurt. He is my beautiful silkie rooster and him and Scarlett are making me some beautiful babies. I candled all the eggs in the incubator last night and they all have veining except for the polish egg, even the banty egg had veining so I am super excited. The 2 eggs that I had been keeping in my homemade ‘bator are really cool, you can actually see the chicks forming now. They only have a little more than a week before lock-down, I am getting super nervous about that because I want to be sure and do everything right. It would be so cool to know that I can do that, actually hatch chicks from my very own chickens. It’s the grand circle of life and the miracle that God has given us. I was just thinking this morning how lucky we are to get to see God’s miracles and handy work everyday. As I was walking through my garden I could see the peas growing up through the ground, the lettuce and spinach seeds I sowed a few weeks ago are starting to pop their heads up through the soil and the colored peppers that I had given up on long ago have finally popped up through the dirt. I have so many tomato plants I am thinking about setting up a table at the end of the drive over the weekend and trying to sell them. I have 70 in the garden now and I probably have at least 50 more. I just don’t have that much room. I’m already going to have to figure out where to put all the peppers. I might have to come up with a new place for the beans. We also have to get the corn and squash and cucumbers in the ground this weekend. That will be on me, because Nick has to keep working on some new coops, and of course there’s Cole’s golf match tomorrow and a birthday party on Sunday. I guess we will be getting up with the sun both mornings. Which is fine, I get up at 4 am both days to do the papers anyway, guess I just won’t be laying back down. I don’t think we have any plans for tonight, so hopefully we can get started. So much to do, So much to do. But it keeps us ALIVE!!!!!

You can make many plans, but the Lord’s purpose will prevail. Proverbs 19:21

Image

The M&M twins: Meriada and Madilyn

Posted on May 16, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

