May 22, 2014

I seriously can not believe May is almost over. This month has just about flown by. All the Chickie babies are growing and getting big. I figure we might get some eggs from some by July. Here’s to keeping my fingers crossed. I decided to do things a bit differently this morning. i went out and opened all the coops and let everyone out to do their morning foraging. I am going to be taking out their food and water soon. I cleaned all the feeders and waterers last night, they were starting to get pretty nasty. I did this so that I could get back in and have my breakfast. I have been waiting until I got everyone else feed to sit down and eat myself and between feeding and watering and doing other chores I wasn’t getting to eat till 10:00 am. I know that might not sound like a big deal, but by then it’s almost lunch time and I leave most days at 11:30 for work.

I moved the bars outside today. They were just stinking up the bathroom way to much. They all have their feathers now so I’m pretty sure they will be okay. And since the weather is on the upturn in temps I’m not to worried about them. I moved the chicks into the bathroom and I am going to be getting the brooder box ready just in case we hatch a chick this weekend. I’m a little optimistic about that. The temp in the homemade bator went up to 110 last night for some reason and I accidentally cracked one of the eggs, but just barely. I guess we will just have to wait and see. This is my first hatch, so I am giving myself a break. I’m really hoping the next one goes better. I would really love to have some chicks that I know where they come from and who the parents are. My silky’s are going to make beautiful babies.

“I am the way,the truth and the life. No one can come to the Father except through me.”   John 14:6

Image

Padme

She’s an Old English Game Hen

She’s named after one of my favorite Star Wars Heroines

Posted on May 22, 2014, in Everyday and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

