June 2, 2014

Another busy weekend down and now another start to a busy week. We had a great weekend. Got most of the fence up around our garden and I just saw  that our peas are starting to grow pods. I believe we will have peas in a week. Yummy!! I have sugar snap and early peas growing. I just hope we have enough so that I can freeze them so they will last longer than last year.

We had some awesome arrivals this weekend! 5 of the 7 eggs I had in the incubator hactched and now we have 5 new silky chicks. They are the cutest little things. I was so nervous Saturday night I almost couldn’t sleep, but alas they finally started hatching at 5 am. It’s just like new babies to come in the wee hours of the morning. I have another 20 in the incubator with a hatch date of June 9 and another 22 with a hatch date of June 22 and Scarlett, my Silky hen is sitting on 6 eggs right now with a hatch date of June 16, which is just 2 days after my sons 15th birthday. I think I have caught the hatching bug or something. I plan to set 12 eggs almost every week. That way I can have some newbies every week or so.

I did have 3 eggs that didn’t hatch and I am planning on doing eggtopsies on them later today. I want to know at what stage the embryo stopped developing or if their was an embryo at all. This is all very new to me and it is all a very big learning process. But I feel that a 80% hatch rate on my first hatch is not bad at all.

What is going to be hard is parting with them after I have hatched them, but that is why I am doing this. I just have to stop naming them I guess. I do however want to build up my stock with chicks that I know where they are coming from, so I will be keeping some from every hatch. But selling a bunch too. 😦

The Lord be with you all. 2 Thessalonians 3:16

Image

This is Bonnie Blue….. (Rhett and Scarlett’s first born.)

Posted on June 2, 2014, in Everyday, incubation and baby chicks, The Flock in Pictures, The Garden, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

